Home / 2016 / March

Monthly Archives: March 2016

Thailand 2015: Anxiety over the royal succession in the post coup 2014

Thailand 2015: Anxiety over the royal succession in the post coup 2014 Pavin Chachavalpongpun Center for Southeast Asian Studies, Kyoto University pavin@cseas.kyoto-u.ac.jp     The military staged a coup on 22 May 2014, overthrowing the elected government of Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra. Outwardly, the military justified its political intervention with …

Read More »

Vietnam 2014-15: the strengthening of relations between Vietnam and the United States

Vietnam 2014-15: the strengthening of relations between Vietnam and the United States  Michela Cerimele University of Naples L’Orientale michela.cerimele@gmail.com     The strengthening of Vietnam-US relations in recent years has been one of the most interesting traits of the so-called US Pivot to Asia. Such a strengthening needs to be …

Read More »

Malaysia 2015: Najib Razak’s hardest year

Malaysia 2015: Najib Razak’s hardest year Stefano Caldirola University of Bergamo stefano.caldirola@unibg.it     In 2015 Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak’s leadership was badly shaken by the eruption of a huge corruption scandal in July. This same scandal contributed to making the Malaysian economic outlook negative, while the national currency …

Read More »

Cambodia 2015: 30 years of Hun Sen’s government and the progressive centralization of power

Cambodia 2015: 30 years of Hun Sen’s government and the progressive centralization of power Nicola Mocci University of Sassari nicolamocci@yahoo.it       In 2015 Cambodia celebrated the anniversary of 30 years of Hun Sen’s government. This article argues that this anniversary coincided with a crisis of hegemony of both …

Read More »

Indonesia 2015: The First Year of the «People’s President»

Indonesia 2015: The First Year of the «People’s President» Elena Valdameri  Asia Maior – An Italian think tank on Asia elena.valdameri83@gmail.com Joko Widodo’s election in 2014, after a long and harshly contested presidential race, raised great expectations: not beholden to the military and political elites of the Suharto era, Indonesian …

Read More »

India 2015: The uncertain record of the Modi government

India 2015: The uncertain record of the Modi government[1] Michelguglielmo Torri University of Turin mg.torri@gmail.com   Diego Maiorano University of Nottingham Diego.Maiorano@nottingham.ac.uk   Narendra Modi’s 2014 election generated enormous expectations in the economic sphere. However, in 2015, on the one hand, Modi was unwilling or unable to push through any …

Read More »

Review The development of the most challenging relationship of our times

Review The development of the most challenging relationship of our times Alessandro Uras University of Cagliari alessandro.uras@unica.it Dong Wang, The United States and China: A History from the Eighteenth Century to the Present, Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 2013, 377 pp. (ISBN 978-0742557826) The relationship between the United States and China …

Read More »

REVIEWS The other side of the chinese economic miracle: the dilemmas of access to health care in the People’s Republic Of China

REVIEWS The other side of the chinese economic miracle: the dilemmas of access to health care in the People’s Republic Of China  Barbara Onnis Università di Cagliari bonnis@unica.it   Daniele Brombal, Curarsi è difficile. Curarsi è costoso. Storia, politica e istituzioni della sanità cinese, 1978-2013, Roma, Aracne, 2015, 167 pp. …

Read More »